Vocalo Radio

Chicago's Urban Alternative

Current track



MCA Chicago X Vocalo Present — Soundtrack Session: Manasseh + The Fam

Written by on December 12, 2022

Vocalo has teamed up with the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago to bring listeners Soundtrack Sessions, a new performance-based series spotlighting artists changing the game in the Chicago music scene, debuting with a performance from Manasseh + The Fam live in Studio 10.

South Side artist Manasseh wants to spread the light with his signature blend of R&B, gospel, hymns, chimes, layered synths and more, which he coined “psychedelic soul.” Much of Manasseh’s music reflects change for the better and expresses his emotions and experiences as a Black queer artist.

RELATED: Manasseh Embraces the Light Within on ‘Monochromatic Dream’

For the first Soundtrack Session, Vocalo and the MCA welcomed Manasseh + The Fam, featuring keyboardist Remon Sanders and drummer Brandon Cameron, to Chicago Public Media’s Jim and Kay Mabie Performance Studio, which listeners may know as Studio 10. This exclusive live performance featuring mesmerizing vocals from Manasseh as he performs tracks from albums Monochromatic Dream and Chasing Moonlight, plus a couple of new singles.

Manasseh will be performing at the MCA on Tuesday, December 13 at 6 p.m. as a part of their Soundtrack live music series. Access to the performance is included with museum admission, which is free to Illinois residents on Tuesdays. Find more information on the MCA’s website.

Set List:


“I’ll Be Right There”

“Fall In Mud”


Follow Manasseh on Twitter and Instagram, and stream Monochromatic Dream below.

Special thanks to the MCA Staff:

Daniel Atkinson, Sam Clapp, Chris Cloud, Victor Cole, Troy Cruz, Paul Deuth, Kelsey Campbell Dollaghan, Otez Gary, Ashina Hamilton, Brian Hedrick, Kristen Kaniewski, Aline Kaze, Haruhi Kobayashi, Julia Kriegel, Laura Page Kyber, Tyler Laminack, Rafael Loza, Suraiya Nathani Hossain, Richard Norwood, Abraham Ritchie, Matt Sharp, and Hannah Smith

And Vocalo & Chicago Public Media Staff:

Ayana Contreras, Morgan Ciocca, Joshua X. Miller, and Dave Miska

Introduction written by Morgan Ciocca

Audio recorded and mixed by engineer Dave Miska

More from Vocalo: